Girls Athletics

To try out or practice for any sport you must have a completed AISD Athletic Participation Form signed by a physician after April 15. Forms and information are available on the AISD Athletics web site.

Basketball


ohms-girls-bb
Girls Basketball season is mid-October through December

Girls Basketball Tryouts
In order to try out for basketball, all girls must have a valid AISD physical exam packet turned in. They also need to pass the 1st 6 weeks. 8th grade tryouts will be Thursday Oct 20th during 8th period Athletics and Friday Oct 21st during 8th period Athletics. 7th grade tryouts will be Wednesday Oct 19th during 1st period Athletics and Friday Oct 21st at 7:15am-1st period.

Parents Athletics Meeting
If you have a 7th or 8th-grade girl who will be playing basketball, or a 7th or 8th-grade boy who will be playing soccer, please mark your calendar for Monday, October 24, at 5:30 p.m. in the Freeman gym. We will have a meeting with the coaches to talk about game schedules and practices, as well as volunteer opportunities for parents. Please join us.

Click the icon to view the
Revised 2016 Girls Basketball Schedule:

Revised 2016 MS Girls Basketball Schedule

Revised 2016 AISD MS Girls Basketball Schedule

OHMS Girls Basketball scores and standings are available on the Rank One Sport web site.

8th Grade A Coach
Lisa Lindberg, lisa.lindberg@austinisd.org

8th Grade B Coach
Luke Borders, luke.borders@austinisd.org

7th Grade A Coach
Kristine Kobs, kristine.kobs@austinisd.org

7th Grade B Coach
Kristi Mellerski, kristi.mellerski@austinisd.org

Cross Country


Cross Country season is early September through mid-October

Click the icon to view the
2016 OHMS Cross Country Schedule
 
2016 OHMS Cross Country Schedule

2016 OHMS Cross Country Schedule

2016 Cross Country Parent Letter

Up next:
Saturday, October 15
Georgetown River Run
Site: San Gabriel Park, Georgetown, Texas
Located at 1003 N. Austin Ave., behind Recreation Center

Bus leaves O.Henry at 7:45 am. We should return to O.Henry around 11:45 am.
9:30 – Jr. High girls 2 mile race
10:00 – Jr. High boys 2 mile race

O. Henry 2015 Cross Country - 6th Grade

O. Henry 2015 Cross Country – 6th Grade (click to enlarge)

2016 Events

  • St. Andrews Invitational, Sept. 9, 2016 – Photos
  • Del Valle ISD MS Meet, Sept. 21, 2016 – Photos
  • McNeil Invitational, SAT, Oct. 1, 2016
  • Georgetown River Run Invitational, SAT, Oct. 15, 2016

2015 Events

  • St. Andrews Invitational, Sept. 11, 2015 – Results
  • McNeil Invitational, Oct. 3, 2015 – Results
  • Georgetown River Run Invitational, Oct. 10, 2015 – Results

Cross Country Coach
Kelly Meyer, kelly.meyer@austinisd.org

 

Golf


Golf season is March through mid-May

6th/7th/8th Grade Golf Coach
Jerrod Wolfe, jerrod.wolfe@austinisd.org

Lacrosse

Lacrosse season is late March through May

Click the icon to view the
2017 OHMS Lacrosse Schedule
 
2017 Lacrosse Schedule

2017 Lacrosse Schedule

Girls Lacrosse Coach
Amy Turner, amy.turner@austinisd.org

Girls Lacrosse Coach
Luke Borders, luke.borders@austinisd.org

Soccer


ohms-girls-soccer
Girls soccer season is January through mid-March

7th and 8th grade girls’ soccer tryouts are January 4th and 5th after school from 3:40-5:00. All girls must have an updated physical and have passed all their classes the 3rd 6 weeks. Girls do not need to be in athletics class to be on the team. Please email Coach Gaffney, if you have questions.

Save the Date — Boys’ Basketball and Girls’ Soccer Meeting
If you have a 7th or 8th grade boy who will be playing basketball, or a 7th or 8th grade girl who will be playing soccer, please mark your calendar for Wednesday, January 4, at 5:30pm. We will have a meeting with the coaches in the cafeteria to talk about game schedules, practices, and student expectations, as well as volunteer opportunities for parents. Please join us.

Click the icon to view the 2017 MS Girls Soccer Schedule

2017 Middle School Girls Soccer Schedule

2017 AISD Girls A/B Team Soccer Schedule

OHMS Girls Soccer scores and standings are available on the Rank One Sport web site.

Girls Soccer A Coach
Crystal Gaffney, crystal.gaffney@austinisd.org

Girls Soccer B Coach
Kristi Mellerski, kristi.mellerski@austinisd.org


Tennis


Tennis season is March through mid-May

Mustang Tennis Team (7th/8th Boys and Girls)
If your 7th or 8th grade student missed our tennis information sessions and is still interested in playing tennis, please send Coach McNally an email (patrick.mcnally@austinisd.org) to learn about forms, fees and practice/match logistics. Additionally, please send your student to Portable 8 on Monday, March 20 during ACES. We welcome players of all ability levels.

BOYS ONLY PRACTICE: March 20TH @ 3:45-4:45.
GIRLS ONLY PRACTICE: Tuesday, March 21st @ 3:45-4:45.
The first match (Boys and Girls) is March 23rd at Small MS @ 6pm.

IMPORTANT NOTES:
1) All student athletes must have a current U.I.L. doctor’s physical (on the required Austin ISD form) on file with the O. Henry Athletics office in order to tryout, practice or play in a match.
2) It is OK for students to play more than one spring sport.

Tennis Coach
Patrick McNally, patrick.mcnally@austinisd.org

Track


Track season is March through mid-May

Track season is coming soon!

Practice will begin on Monday, March 6th! Track Practice will be on Mondays and Tuesdays.
All 7th graders will practice before school (7:15-8:15am).
All 8th graders will practice after school until 4:45pm.

Students must have a current AISD physical on file, in order to participate in track, and must be passing their classes.

Click the icon to view 2017 Track Schedule:

2017 Track Schedule 2017 Track Schedule
8th Grade Girls Track Coach
Kelly Meyer, kelly.meyer@austinisd.org

7th Grade Girls Track Coach
Ashley Cross, ashley.cross@austinisd.org

Volleyball


ohms-volleyball
Volleyball season is September through mid-October

Click the icon to view the
AISD 2016 Girls Volleyball Schedule:
 
AISD 2016 Girls Volleyball Schedule
AISD 2016 Girls Volleyball Schedule

OHMS Girls Volleyball scores and standings are available on the Rank One Sport web site.
7th Grade A Coach
Kristine Kobs, kristine.kobs@austinisd.org

7th Grade B Coach
Hannah Hallmark, hannah.hallmark@austinisd.org

7th Grade C Coach
Kristi Mellerski, kristi.mellerski@austinisd.org

8th Grade A Coach
Lisa Lindberg, lisa.lindberg@austinisd.org

8th Grade B Coach
Ashley Cross, ashley.cross@austinisd.org

8th Grade C Coach
Taylor Wagner, taylor.wagner@austinisd.org

 

 

View Volleyball Season Summaries
201520142013

Ultimate Frisbee


Ultimate Frisbee season is mid-March through early May

Ultimate Frisbee
Jerrod Wolfe, jerrod.wolfe@austinisd.org
Andrew Walch, andrew.walch@austinisd.org


© 2011-2017 O. Henry Middle School
2610 West 10th Street, Austin, TX 78703 / 512-414-3229